CAIR Coalition's 20th Anniversary Awards Gala

CAIR Coalition Logo

20 Years Fighting to Advance Equal Justice for All Immigrants


October 29, 2019

6:30 PM - 9:30 PM


The Mayflower Hotel, Washington, DC



This year marks the 20th anniversary of the Capital Area Immigrants’ Rights (CAIR) Coalition’s work with our partners to protect the rights, the lives, and the families of immigrants in the Capital region and beyond. Our annual event brings together several hundred supporters from across DC, Maryland and Virginia committed to providing justice for immigrant men, women and children threatened with detention and deportation. The evening provides us with an opportunity to honor our champions, including our pro bono advocates, leaders on Capitol Hill, and committed law firms that provide millions of dollars in pro bono legal services on an annual basis. 


2019 Honorees 


Photo of Steny Hoyer in front of the Capitol building

House Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer


Photo of Nydia Velazquez

Congresswoman Nydia Velázquez


Photo of Joe Kennedy III

Congressman Joe Kennedy III


Mayer Brown LLP | 2019 Detained Adult Champion Award
Beveridge & Diamond, P.C. | 2019 Detained Children’s Champion Award
Hogan Lovells US LLP | 2019 Impacting Justice Award
Joanna Silver | 2019 Community Advocate Award


2019 Emcee

Photo of Maria Cardona

Maria Cardona, Principal at the Dewey Square Group and CNN/CNN Español Commentator


20th Anniversary Awards Gala Sponsors

20th Anniversary Presenting Sponsor | $25,000 and Above

Tom Gallagher and Barbara Myers

20th Anniversary Gold Sponsor | $10,000 - $24,999

Alston & Bird LLP | Arent Fox LLP | Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP | Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP | Cooley | Covington & Burling LLP | Crowell & Moring LLP | Emily Spitzer and Eric Lewis | Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP | Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP | Hogan Lovells US LLP | Jones Day | Mayer Brown LLP | Paul Hastings LLP | Samantha Trepel and Aaron Lemon-Strauss | Sidley Austin LLP | Steptoe & Johnson LLP | Wiley Rein LLP | Williams & Connolly LLP

20th Anniversary Silver Sponsor | $5,000 - $9,999

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP | Baker Botts LLP | Beveridge & Diamond PC | Dewey Square | | McDermott Will & Emery | O'Melveny & Myers LLP | Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP | Perkins Coie LLP | Prudential | Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP | Vinson & Elkins LLP | WilmerHale

20th Anniversary Host Committee | $2,500 - $4,999

Helen and Bill Ackerman | Anonymous | Beach-Oswald Immigration Law Associates PC | Benach Collopy | US Rep. Don Beyer (VA) | Buckley LLP | Calderon Seguin | DLA Piper LLP | Nadeam and Stacy Elshami | Fish & Richardson | Freddie Mac | Andrew Genz and Carmen Ramirez | Hewlett Packard Enterprise | Holwell Shuster & Goldberg LLP | Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP | Jezic & Moyse, LLC | Cary Kelly | Paul and Jane Khoury | Bob and Cindy Lawrence | McKool Smith | Robert Nicholas and Meg Crowlie | Todd Pilcher and Tasneem Hussain | Priale & Racine, PLLC | Rosa Puech and Peter Schechter | William J Reynolds and Daryl A Muller | Tracy Roman | Lawrence Schneider and Susan Ness | Jon and Joan Suttin Fee | Julia M Toro Law Firm | Laura Tuell | Michael Ward | Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati | Zuckerman Spaeder LLP

To learn more about sponsoring this event, email


Sign up to stay involved

Enter your e-mail to receive legal updates, action alerts, and more!